Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Master of Science in Engineering Artificial Intelligence (MS EAI)
Carnegie Mellon University Africa · Kigali, Rwanda
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master of Science in Engineering Artificial Intelligence
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learning, AI engineeringFull time
- Format
- On campus16-20 months (3-4 semesters)
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Engineering-oriented AI master's combining AI, machine learning and data science with a capstone applying AI to African engineering problems.
- School and department
- Carnegie Mellon University Africa
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learning, AI engineeringRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- Master of Science in Engineering Artificial Intelligence
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Carnegie Mellon University Africa
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 16-20 months (3-4 semesters)
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- 72 units core, 48 units electives, 24-unit capstone projectShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 144 CMU unitsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- CMU-Africa, Kigali Innovation CityRegional ICT Center of Excellence Bldg, Kigali Innovation City - Bumbogo, BP 6150
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Core categories: Mathematical Fundamentals, Introduction to AI, Introduction to Machine Learning, Data Analytics, Advanced AI and ML, EAI System Designs; electives tied to an engineering discipline.
- Project or capstone
- 24-unit capstone project
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)