Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology · Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
- Subject
- Artificial intelligenceFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusFull-time 1 year; part-time 2 years
- Price
- HK$400,000whole program, 2026-27
About this program
Taught master's in AI covering machine learning, deep learning, computer vision and NLP, with an independent project or practicum option. Offered by the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.
- School and department
- The Hong Kong University of Science and TechnologyDepartment of Computer Science and Engineering
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligenceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full-time 1 year; part-time 2 years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part time
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- 30 credits: 12 core, 18 elective; practicum training and independent project availableShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 30 HKUST program creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- HKUST Clear Water Bay campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Recommended
Related bachelor's degree, or other bachelor's degree with at least two years of relevant work experience.
- Academic requirements
- Bachelor's degree in computer engineering, computer science or a related discipline, or another discipline with two years of relevant work experience
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Language requirements
- TOEFL/IELTS or equivalent unless English-medium degree
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Program FeeTuition · mandatory | HK$400,000whole program, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- 12 credits of core AI courses plus electives in specialised AI technology and application-oriented AI.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)