PhD or research doctorate · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
IMPRS-IS Doctoral Program in Intelligent Systems
International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS) · Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Doctoral degree (Ph.D.)
- Subject
- Intelligent systems, Artificial intelligence, Machine learningFull time
- Format
- On campusApproximately three years
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Doctoral programme in intelligent systems (machine learning, computer vision, robotics, NLP and related fields) offered with the Universities of Stuttgart and Tübingen; students register as university doctoral students.
- School and department
- International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS)
- Subject or specialization
- Intelligent systems, Artificial intelligence, Machine learningRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD or research doctorate
- Exact award
- Doctoral degree (Ph.D.)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Approximately three years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Schedule
- Full timeApproximately three years of doctoral research
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Doctoral dissertation and thesis advisory committeeShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Teaching location
- University of Tübingen (partner)
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
- Language requirements
- English proficiency evidence (e.g. TOEFL) for non-native speakers
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Intakes and deadlines
- February 2027 or later · deadline 15 November 2026 · open
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Independent research guided by faculty plus seminars and training workshops.
- Project or capstone
- Doctoral dissertation
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)