Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
MSc in Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence
Stellenbosch University · Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Applications closed
- Award
- MSc (Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence)
- Subject
- Machine learning, Artificial intelligenceFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusOne year of intensive full-time study, or two years of part-time study
- Price
- Not published
About this program
A structured master's with four core modules, six electives and a research project covering ML and AI foundations, deep learning and application areas such as vision, language and reinforcement learning.
- School and department
- Stellenbosch UniversityApplied Mathematics
- Subject or specialization
- Machine learning, Artificial intelligenceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- MSc (Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Stellenbosch University
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- One year of intensive full-time study, or two years of part-time study
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeOne year full-time or two years part-time
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Four core modules, six elective modules and a 60-credit research projectShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 180 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- Stellenbosch campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Required
- Mathematics
- Required
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
Honours degree in a mathematical/computing field, four-year engineering degree or equivalent NQF level 8 qualification, plus demonstrable Python proficiency and comfort with linear algebra, calculus, probability and statistics.
- Academic requirements
- Honours degree in Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Mathematics or Mathematical Statistics; four-year engineering degree; or an equivalent NQF level 8 qualification
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Enrolment restrictions
- In-person only; the programme cannot be done remotely or online
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Intakes and deadlines
- January 2027 (2027 intake; exact dates sent to successful applicants) · deadline 31 October 2026 · closed · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Core modules: Mathematics for Machine Learning, Probabilistic Modelling and Reasoning, Foundations of Deep Learning, Applied Machine Learning at Scale; electives include Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing and Reinforcement Learning and Planning.
- Project or capstone
- 60-credit research project
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)