Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
M.S. in Artificial Intelligence (MSAI)
University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learning, Generative AIFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusOne-and-a-half to two years full-time; about 12 months with a full summer load
- Price
- Not published
About this program
A 30-credit STEM master's covering machine learning, deep learning, large language models and generative AI, with thesis and non-thesis options.
- School and department
- University of Alabama at BirminghamDepartment of Computer Science, College of Arts and Sciences
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learning, Generative AIRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- University of Alabama at Birmingham
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- One-and-a-half to two years full-time; about 12 months with a full summer load
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendanceRequired in-person time: Page says some graduate courses are available online; the program is not stated as fully online.
- Schedule
- Full time, Part time
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Thesis option: 24 coursework + 6 thesis research credits; or 30 credits courseworkShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 30 US semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- UAB campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)