Graduate certificate · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Online Graduate Certificate in Data Science & Artificial Intelligence
University of Alberta · Online · provider based in Canada
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Graduate Certificate in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (DSAI)
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Responsible AIPart time, Flexible
- Format
- Fully onlineAs little as eight months; four seven-week courses
- Price
- CA$9,916.32whole program, 2026-27
About this program
A four-course online graduate certificate for non-technical professionals covering AI foundations, responsible AI use, data analysis and statistics.
- School and department
- University of Alberta
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Responsible AIRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Graduate certificate
- Exact award
- Graduate Certificate in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (DSAI)
- Credential type
- Academic award (non-degree)A certificate, diploma or microcredential issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- University of Alberta
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- As little as eight months; four seven-week courses
- Delivery
- Fully onlineTaught entirely online. Check whether any in-person assessment is required before applying.
- Physical attendance
- No physical attendance required (verified)
- Where students can enrol
- The page says the fully online program is not eligible for a Canadian study permit or a PGWP.The institution is based in Canada; eligibility to enrol may differ.
- Live or recorded
- Asynchronous
- Schedule
- Part time, FlexibleFour seven-week asynchronous courses taken one at a time.
- Weekly commitment
- Approximately 15 - 20 hours per week
- Credits
- 12 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not required (stated)
- Mathematics
- Not required (stated)
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
No coding, mathematics or data science background and no minimum GPA; a four-year bachelor's degree or equivalent is required.
Stated audience: Career changers, Experienced technical professionals. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for. Missing entry requirements never mean “beginner friendly”.
- Academic requirements
- Four-year bachelor's degree or academic equivalent
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
- Enrolment restrictions
- Not eligible for a Canadian study permit or PGWP because it is fully online.
Intakes and deadlines
- Winter 2027 · deadline November 30, 2026 · open
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated total program tuitionTuition · mandatory | CA$9,916.32whole program, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Program application fee (one time, non-refundable)Application fee · mandatory | CA$135one-time | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Foundational AI knowledge, responsible AI use, data visualization and statistics for data science and AI.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)