AI Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program

MSc Artificial Intelligence Governance and Ethics

University of Bristol · Clifton, Bristol, England, United Kingdom

Upcoming intake

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
MSc
Subject
AI governance, AI ethics, AI policyFull time
Format
On campusOne year full-time
Price
£16,000per year, 2027 entry

About this program

One-year on-campus MSc centred on ethical reasoning, critical analysis and policy development for governing artificial intelligence, with foundational units on technical literacies and a capstone.

School and department
University of BristolSchool of Sociology, Politics and International Studies
Subject or specialization
AI governance, AI ethics, AI policyRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Master’s degree
Exact award
MSc
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
University of Bristol
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Structure and schedule

Duration
One year full-time
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full timeOne year full-time, on campus
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
60-credit capstone as a 12,000-word dissertation or an applied dissertation with an external partnerShown separately from the teaching duration.
Credits
180 UK credits (3 x 60)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Teaching location
Clifton campus

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Programming
Not stated
Mathematics
Not stated
Prior degree
Required
Work experience
Not stated

A strong second-class honours degree (55% or higher) or international equivalent in any discipline; foundational units give all students technical literacies.

Academic requirements
Strong second-class honours degree (55%+) or international equivalent in any discipline
International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply

Intakes and deadlines

  • September 2027 · deadline Overseas applicants 12 August 2027; home applicants 9 September 2027 · openClifton campus

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Home full-timeTuition · mandatory£16,000per year, 2027 entryDomestic students1 November 2026Source
Overseas full-timeTuition · mandatory£31,500per year, 2027 entryInternational students1 November 2026Source

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
Core units build a common foundation; options cover areas such as regulation and standards and the ethics of AI in public life; capstone is a dissertation or applied project.
Project or capstone
12,000-word dissertation or applied dissertation with a commercial, public or third-sector partner

Sources and verification

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction