Master’s degree · AI pathway within a broader qualification
Master of Engineering, Artificial Intelligence area of study
University of California, Los Angeles · Los Angeles, California, United States
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Master of Engineering
- Subject
- Artificial intelligenceFull time
- Format
- On campusOne year, full time; nine courses (36 units)
- Price
- Not published
AI pathway within a broader qualification
About this program
The Artificial Intelligence area of study within UCLA's one-year Master of Engineering, focused on building systems that reason, learn and act intelligently, with computer science, NLP and data-mining courses.
- School and department
- University of California, Los AngelesUCLA Samueli School of Engineering
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligenceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- Master of Engineering
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- University of California, Los Angeles
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- One year, full time; nine courses (36 units)
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full timeOne year, full time, on campus
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Five engineering courses in the technology concentration plus a capstone project (per AI area sample curriculum).Shown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 36 unitsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- UCLA campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- Fall 2027-28 cohort · deadline Applications open in September · upcoming
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Sample curriculum includes Introduction to Artificial Intelligence, Natural Language Processing, Automated Reasoning, Large-Scale Data Mining and a capstone project.
- Project or capstone
- Capstone Project
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)