AI Schools Worldwide

PhD or research doctorate · Dedicated AI or machine learning program

UKRI AI Centre for Doctoral Training in Designing Responsible Natural Language Processing (integrated PhD)

The University of Edinburgh · Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom

Upcoming intake

Visit Official PageOfficial AdmissionsRequest Information
Award
PhD
Subject
NLP, Responsible AIFull time
Format
On campus4 years
Price
Not published

About this program

UKRI-funded four-year integrated PhD programme at the University of Edinburgh training researchers to design, deploy and oversee trustworthy natural language processing systems. Studentships are described as fully funded.

School and department
The University of EdinburghEdinburgh Futures Institute
Subject or specialization
NLP, Responsible AIRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
PhD or research doctorate
Exact award
PhD
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Structure and schedule

Duration
4 years
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Attendance requirement not verified
Schedule
Full timeFour-year integrated PhD with taught courses in the first years
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
Credit-bearing taught courses at the University of Edinburgh during the PhDShown separately from the teaching duration.
Teaching location
Edinburgh Futures Institute

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Programming
Not stated
Mathematics
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
International applicants
Not confirmed
Official instructions
Application instructions

Intakes and deadlines

  • September 2027 · deadline Stage 1 deadline 30 November 2026; Stage 2 deadline January 2027 · open

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
Five skills domains: responsible NLP data and models, explainable NLP, human-NLP partnership design, NLP governance and accountability, and co-creation of NLP futures.
Internship
Placements with partners are supported by the studentship support grant

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction