Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Master of Artificial Intelligence (Coursework)
University of Johannesburg · Johannesburg, South Africa
Applications closed
- Award
- Master of Artificial Intelligence (Coursework)
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learningFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campus1 Year Full-Time and 2 Years Part-Time
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Coursework master's in AI from the university's Institute for Intelligent Systems, covering AI and machine learning applications, ethics and a research project.
- School and department
- University of JohannesburgInstitute for Intelligent Systems, Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learningRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- Master of Artificial Intelligence (Coursework)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- University of Johannesburg
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
- National level
- NQF (South Africa) level 9As stated in the source: Page also lists SAQA ID 118671.. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 1 Year Full-Time and 2 Years Part-Time
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeMedium of facilitation listed as part-time and full-time.
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Research project.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 183 NQF creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- Auckland Park Kingsway Campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not stated
- Mathematics
- Required
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
Honours/NQF level 8 in a related field (or a B.Tech with a year of work or research experience) and at least NQF level 5 mathematics at undergraduate level.
- Academic requirements
- Honours or NQF level 8 in Engineering, Commerce or Economics, Mathematical Sciences, Natural Sciences or Computer Science; or a B.Tech in those fields with at least one year of work or research experience.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Enrolment restrictions
- Application window listed as 1 April 2026 to 31 October 2026 (closed as of 2026-11-01).
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Covers psychology and AI, ethics and a variety of aspects of machine learning, with a research project.
- Project or capstone
- Research project.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)