Microcredential · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Artificial Intelligence Safety, Ethics and Risk
University of St Andrews · Online · provider based in United Kingdom
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Artificial Intelligence Safety, Ethics and Risk micro-credential
- Subject
- AI safety, AI ethicsPart time, Flexible
- Format
- Fully online100 learning hours, maximum completion time 12 months
- Price
- £800whole program, 2027 entry
About this program
Online micro-credential on critically evaluating the safety, ethics and risks of generative AI in public and private sector deployment, including algorithmic bias and governance frameworks.
- School and department
- University of St Andrews
- Subject or specialization
- AI safety, AI ethicsRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Microcredential
- Exact award
- Artificial Intelligence Safety, Ethics and Risk micro-credential
- Credential type
- Academic award (non-degree)A certificate, diploma or microcredential issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- University of St Andrews
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
- National level
- SCQF level 11As stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 100 learning hours, maximum completion time 12 months
- Delivery
- Fully onlineTaught entirely online. Check whether any in-person assessment is required before applying.
- Physical attendance
- No physical attendance required (verified)
- Where students can enrol
- Not stated on the pages we checkedThe institution is based in United Kingdom; eligibility to enrol may differ.
- Live or recorded
- Live or asynchronous not confirmed
- Schedule
- Part time, Flexible100% online micro-credential, four intakes a year
- Total learning hours
- 100
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- AI integration portfolio and end-of-module quizShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 10 SCQF credits (SCQF level 11)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Not required (stated)
- Mathematics
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
No formal entry requirements; some familiarity with AI tools such as Copilot is beneficial but not required.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- 18 January 2027 · deadline 13 December 2026 · openOnline
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees as publishedTuition · mandatory | £800whole program, 2027 entry | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Evaluation of algorithmic reliability and demographic bias, formal threat models, and adapting organisational governance frameworks.
- Assessment
- Students must submit an AI integration portfolio and pass an end-of-module quiz.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)