Master’s degree · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
Artificial Intelligence (MSc by Coursework and Research Report)
University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg · Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- MSc by Coursework and Research Report in Artificial Intelligence
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learningFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusFull-time: 1 year coursework and 1 year research. Part-time: 2 years coursework and 1 to 2 years research
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Coursework master's with a research report, covering computational intelligence, machine learning, reinforcement learning, computer vision, multi-agent systems and NLP.
- School and department
- University of the Witwatersrand, JohannesburgSchool of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learningRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s degree
- Exact award
- MSc by Coursework and Research Report in Artificial Intelligence
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- University of the Witwatersrand
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full-time: 1 year coursework and 1 year research. Part-time: 2 years coursework and 1 to 2 years research
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeFull-time and part-time study modes
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Coursework followed by a research reportShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Teaching location
- University of the Witwatersrand
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Required
- Mathematics
- Required
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
BSc Honours in a relevant science discipline or NQF level 8 equivalent (or a professional engineering degree with algorithms, computing, calculus, linear algebra, probability and statistics); minimum average of 65 percent.
- Academic requirements
- Bachelor of Science with Honours in Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics or Statistics, or a relevant NQF level 8 qualification
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
- Enrolment restrictions
- Competitive; foreign qualifications need a SAQA evaluation certificate
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Compulsory modules include Adaptive Computation and Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Reinforcement Learning, a research methods and capstone module and a research report; three electives are chosen from a list including robotics, NLP and multi-agent systems.
- Project or capstone
- Research Report: Artificial Intelligence
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)