Professional certificate · Dedicated AI or machine learning program
CAS Foundations of AI and Machine Learning
ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences · Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Certificate of Advanced Studies ZHAW in Foundations of AI and Machine Learning
- Subject
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learning
- Format
- On campus5 months
- Price
- CHF 6,300whole program, 2027 intakes
About this program
Part-time continuing-education certificate giving technical foundations in machine learning, deep learning, language AI and reinforcement learning for working professionals.
- School and department
- ZHAW Zurich University of Applied SciencesSchool of Engineering, Continuing Education
- Subject or specialization
- Artificial intelligence, Machine learningRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- German, English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Professional certificate
- Exact award
- Certificate of Advanced Studies ZHAW in Foundations of AI and Machine Learning
- Credential type
- Academic award (non-degree)A certificate, diploma or microcredential issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences
- Access and price model
- Access terms not statedThe official page does not state the price model.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 5 months
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not publishedOne class day per week, Tuesdays 9:00 to 17:00
- Weekly commitment
- Tuesdays 9:00 to 17:00 (8 lessons)
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Four modules with module testsShown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 12 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- ZHAW Technopark, WinterthurTechnoparkstrasse 2, 8401 Winterthur
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Programming
- Required
- Mathematics
- Required
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Required
Higher-education degree (or a higher vocational qualification plus admissions interview), two to three years of relevant professional experience, Python or other programming skills and basic statistics and linear algebra.
Stated audience: Experienced technical professionals. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for. Missing entry requirements never mean “beginner friendly”.
- Academic requirements
- Degree from a recognised higher education institution plus two years of relevant professional experience; other routes via higher vocational education plus three years and an interview.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- 2 March 2027 · deadline 2 February 2027 · upcoming
- 21 September 2027 · deadline 21 August 2027 · upcoming
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Course cost as published (Costs)Tuition · mandatory | CHF 6,300whole program, 2027 intakes | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Four modules: machine learning, deep learning, language AI and reinforcement learning, combining lectures, practical sessions, case studies and group work.
- Assessment
- Module tests
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)